India T20 World Cup Squad 2022

ICC on Monday announced the Indian team for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022. The tournament is scheduled to start next month. The tournament will start with qualifier matches on 16 October. The final of T20 World Cup 2022 will be held on 13th November. A total of 45 matches will be played during the tournament.

The venue of the tournament is Australia. India will play its first match of T20 World Cup 2022 against Pakistan on 23 October at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. India is a part of Group 2 in the tournament, which has teams like Pakistan, South Africa and Bangladesh in its pool.

India T20 World Cup Squad 2022: Rohit Sharma will lead the team

India T20 World Cup Squad 2022: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Akshar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah translittruetag Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

Standby player — Mo. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar

Injury Update: Hardik Pandya, Arshdeep Singh and Bhuvneshwar Kumar will report to the NCA for conditioning related work during the domestic series against Australia and South Africa.

Group 1 has teams like England, Australia, New Zealand and Afghanistan. After the qualifier round, there will be two more teams in each group. Teams like Sri Lanka, Namibia, UAE, Netherlands, West Indies, Scotland, Zimbabwe and Ireland are in the qualifier round.

Sri Lanka, Namibia, UAE and the Netherlands are part of Group A in the qualifier round. West Indies, Scotland, Zimbabwe and Ireland are part of Group B. After the qualifier round, the top two teams from each group will be included. Super 12 rounds.

Indian team for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

Rohit Sharma (C)35Batsman
KL Rahul (VC)30Batsman
Virat Kohli33Batsman
Suryakumar Yadav31Batsman
Deepak Hooda27All Rounder
Rishabh Pant (WK)24Batsman / Wicket Keeper
Dinesh Karthik (WK)37Batsman / Wicket Keeper
Hardik Pandya28All Rounder
Ravichandran Ashwin35All Rounder
Axar Patel28All Rounder
Harshal Patel31All Rounder
Bhuvneshwar Kumar32Bowler
Jasprit Bumrah28Bowler
Yuzvendra Chahal32Bowler
Arshdeep Singh23Bowler
Mohammed Shami32BowlerReserves
Shreyas Iyer27BatsmanReserves
Deepak Chahar30BowlerReserves
Ravi Bishnoi22BowlerReserves

Australia is the defending champion of the tournament. Last year in the T20 World Cup 2021, Australia won its first T20 World Cup title by defeating New Zealand by 7 Wickets.

India recently faced poor performance in the Asia Cup 2022, where they could not even reach the final. The team led by Rohit Sharma lost back-to-back match against Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the Super Four round, which resulted in them being eliminated from the path to the final.

After defeating Pakistan in the final, Sri Lanka won the Asia Cup 2022 title. Before the ICC T20 World Cup 2022, India will also play a T20I series against Australia and South Africa.