ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Indian Cricket Team Preview

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Indian Cricket Team Preview

As the Indian Premier League (IPL) approaches its conclusion, cricket enthusiasts are eagerly anticipating the upcoming ICC T20 Cricket World Cup. Scheduled to be held in the United States of America and the West Indies, the World Cup is set to commence on June 2, 2024. Rohit Sharma is poised to lead India in their pursuit of the championship, a title that has eluded them since their victory in 2013.

With a desire for redemption following their defeat in the ICC ODI Cricket World Cup last year and their disappointing exit in the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup in 2022, the Indian team is determined to make their mark in the upcoming tournament. Cricket fans around the globe are gearing up to witness the thrilling competition as teams from various nations vie for cricketing glory on the world stage.

Vave Vave Review 94.6/100
  • Accepts cryptocurrency and fiat currency
  • Loads of live and pre-match betting options
  • Good selection of bonuses and promotions

The Indian Team Announced for the T20 World Cup

The Indian Cricket Board announced their 15-man team for the coming onslaught on April 30, 2024. The team that was announced was to be expected but with the notable exclusion of KL Rahul who was a part of the previous two T20 World Cups.

The Squad:

Rohit Sharma (c)Batsman
Yashasvi JaiswalBatsman
Virat KohliBatsman
Suryakumar YadavBatsman
Rishabh Pant (wk)Wicket Keeper
Sanju Samson (wk)Wicket Keeper
Hardik Pandya (vc)All-Rounder
Shivam DubeAll-Rounder
Ravindra JadejaAll-Rounder
Axar PatelAll-Rounder
Kuldeep YadavBowler 
Yuzvendra ChahalBowler
Arshdeep SinghBowler
Jasprit BumrahBowler
Mohammed SirajBowler

There are also a few players who are currently on traveling reserve. The reserved players are:

  • Shubman Gill (traveling reserve)
  • Rinku Singh (traveling reserve)
  • Khaleel Ahmed (traveling reserve)
  • Avesh Khan (traveling reserve)

The Batsmen

The Batting lineup for India is nothing short of the top tier. They have some incredible batsmen throughout the order that make the lineup as good as it has been for the past few years. We will be running down who we think is the best among the bunch and who we are likely to see dominate the order.

The Top-Order Batsmen

Starting off the top order we have the captain of the men in blue, Rohit Sharma. He has been the pillar of India’s opening duo for the longest time. He always keeps his cool and is guaranteed to put high numbers on the board when he is on the pitch. His partner in the crease is Yashasvi Jaiswal or Shubman Gill. We have our money on Gill. He has been a scary force to be reckoned with in recent times. He has put up 426 runs on the board for the Gujrat Titans so far in this IPL. While unlikely, Virat Kohli could also open in this World Cup due to his incredible performance in the IPL. He is one of India’s greatest assets and is sure to put up a great show on the field.

The Middle-Order Batsmen

The middle-order is in the capable hands of Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya. Hardik has recently been putting on a disappointing show in the IPL. Yadav has been playing well consistently since last year. He currently has a strike rate of 171.5 and is sure to score well when he is in the crease.

The All-Rounders

The Indian all-rounders are reputed for being reliable with both the bat and ball. One of these all-rounders on the squad is Ravindra Jadeja. He boasts a strike rate of 125 with an economy of 7.1 runs per over. Accompanying him as an all-rounder are Axar Patel and Shivam Dube. Both of the players are remarkable with Axar being especially strong in recent games.

The Wicket Keepers

Before the squad was announced, fans were theorizing about who would put on the gloves to protect the wickets. The keepers who were finally entrusted with the task were Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson.

The Bowlers

India is relying on a spin-heavy bowling lineup for the tournament. This decision was most likely taken to keep the pace of the game at a slow rate. Their spin lineup consists of Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal. Among them, Yadav and Jadeja are very likely to take the lead in spin in the tournament. The pace lineup is also incredibly strong with Jasprit Bumrah leading the pack. Bumrah is one of the best pacers not only in the Indian team but also in the entire tournament. Supporting Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj and vice-captain Hardik Pandya will also be taking the role of pacers for the team.

The Ideal Playing XI

The announced 15-man Indian squad is a force to be reckoned with. The ideal XI in our opinion is Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya (vc), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj.

The lineup above has the hardest hitting top-order batsmen with a blend of both pacers and spinners that Rohit Sharma could put into play.